New Mexico Watchman Jose Vasquez

 

                                                                                       Thursday, February 16, 2017
  
HB 171 End of Life Options will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee
 
Friday, February 17, 2017 at
1:30 p.m. in Room 309.
 
HB 171 End of Life Options allows any health care provider with a prescription credential to make available a lethal dose of drugs to a patient who is thought to be dying.  The death bill will be heard by the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, Friday, February 17 in Room 309.
 
New Mexicans for Ethical Medical Treatment has made available the following information regarding this bill.  Please review and contact the committee members listed below with your concerns. 

New Mexicans for Ethical Medical Treatment

Opposition to Assisted Suicide

  • Assisted suicide decreases the value of human life.
  • It would violate the doctor’s Hippocratic Oath and change the role of the doctor. The AMA opposes assisted suicide for this reason.
  • It would open up many abuses, such as: assisting someone who is not really dying, assisting someone who is in depression, assisting someone who feels their existence is inconvenient to others, and lastly assisting the elderly who can be coerced.
  • It encourages doctors and families to give up on hope of recovery and avoid heroic measures.
  • Undue pressure can be put on the patients and doctors by insurance companies or the government.
  • Doctors would be given too much power and can make the wrong diagnosis.
  • Talking high doses of barbiturates is not a peaceful death
  • Those with disabilities, mental problems, the elderly or those with chronic conditions would be a great risk.
  • There is no requirement for a witness to be available at the time of death.
  • Patients may not know all of the pain management choices.
  • Heirs could gain their inheritances sooner, which might encourage assisted suicide.
      New Mexicans for Ethical Medical Treatment. Call for more information @ 505-881-4563,                                                                                                                  WWW.NMEMT.ORG
 
Please contact members of the committee by email, phone, letter or in-person and express your opposition to HB 171.  Urge them to vote NO on HB 171 End of Life Options.
New Mexico Legislature 2017
House Judiciary Committee
Last Name First Name Position Party Room Extn.* Email Addr.
Chasey Gail Chair D 308 4411 gail@gailchasey.com
Martinez Javier Vice Chair D 413C 4436 javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov
Alcon Eliseo Lee Member D 314B 4425 eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov
Brown Cathrynn N. Member R 204B 4210 c.brown.nm55@gmail.com
Cook Zachary J. Member R 205A 4233 zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov
Dines Jim Member R 205B 4242 jim.dines@nmlegis.gov
Egolf Brian Member D 104 4782 brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov
Ely Daymon Member D 203DN 4336 daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov
Gentry Nate Member R 125 4757 natefornm@gmail.com
Louis Georgene Member D 312A 4327 georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov
McQueen Matthew Member D 316A 4421 matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov
Nibert Greg Member R 203E 4211 greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov
Rehm William “Bill” Member R 201B 4214 bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

* Dial 1 (505) 986 – plus the Representative’s extension.

Leave a Reply